Sixteen DJs vie for 6 silent disco slots

The 16 Chattanooga-area DJs who will compete for six spots to perform at this year’s Riverbend Festival silent disco have been announced. The silent disco, powered by Silent Events, will take place at the Bud Light Stage from 9:30 PM to 11:00 PM June 6-8.

The roster of 16 contestants will be split into two groups of eight. One group will be showcased at the April 26 tryout, while the other group will be on display at the May 3 event. Both tryouts will be held at JJ’s Bohemia in Chattanooga, and admission will be $5 per night.

Three DJs will be selected from each tryout to perform at Riverbend’s silent disco: one winner will be selected by crowd vote, the second by crowd reaction, and the third by a pick from 423PK staffers.

The list of 16 competitors is as follows:

• Eli Thomas (T.Rx)
• Cole Sweeton (Cutlass Cult)
• Sean Mason (Noted)
• Ben Park and Justin Lewis (Junk Science)
• Eroc Russell (Brother Eroc)
• Jonathan Baldwin (Moonchild)
• Joshua Davis and Kris Battle (Robosapien)
• Tommy Lape (Tommy L)
• Jacob Shaw (Era-Step)
• Lane Ponder (Too Turnt)
• Nick Hudson (New Planet)
• Bob VanScoten (Churrin)
• Korey Gott (KG)
• Rex Henry (Ghibli)
• Cary Beals (DJ Gruv)
• Shawn Causby (DJ SpaceGhost)

2014 Riverbend Festival Silent Disco Tryouts

Click for larger image

General admission festival tickets are $35 while single-day wristbands will be available for $26. Please visit the Riverbend website for all ticketing details.

As always, stay tuned to the Silent Events Facebook and Twitter pages for information in the coming weeks. Also be sure to follow Riverbend Festival on its Facebook page.


By: Silent Events

Published: Thursday, April 24, 2014